AASTU at a glance


The concept of Addis Ababa Science and Technology University had a direct and reasonable connection with the Five-Year Growth and Transformation Plan (2010-2015) of the government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. As it was stated in the plan, the establishment of well institutionalized and strong science and technology universities and institutes of technology will serve as a cornerstone to build an economically developed and industrialized state of Ethiopia. As a result, AASTU was founded in 2011 under the Directive of the Council of Ministers No. 216/2011 by admitting the first batch (2000 students) in November 2011. Currently, the university has enrolled more than 8000 undergraduate (under regular and continuing education program) and close to 700 postgraduate students under its nine applied sciences, technology, engineering and ICT focused schools. AASTU is a university in the making, and much of its short-term plans aim at establishing academic infrastructures and facilities, staff recruitment and manpower development. So far, we managed to recruit 472 academic staff and 391 administrative staff. The university is still undergoing infrastructural and organizational expansions and substantial budget is allocated for the construction of buildings and infrastructures so as to provide satisfactory service to all stakeholders.
Due to the high emphasis given to the university by the government, AASTU is re-structured as strategic Science and Technology University under the Directive of the Council of Ministers No. 314/2014 in July 2014.
Accordingly, its accountability has shifted from the Ministry of Education (MoE) to the Ministry of Science and Technology (MoST).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy