Welcome to Department of Industrial Chemistry

Industrial Chemistry Department

The Industrial Chemistry program at the Addis Ababa Science and Technology University is opened to address shortage of industrial chemists that work on the growing number of industries. The department strives to deliver high-quality education, as per the standard of the country, and produce qualified professionals in order to satisfy the needs of industrial chemists of the country.

Industrial Chemistry deals with the commercial production of chemicals and related products from raw materials and their derivatives. It enables humanity to experience the benefits of Chemistry when applied on the exploitation of available materials and energy. Industrial Chemistry as a branch of Chemistry, therefore, comes in very useful application of scientific knowledge to a range of industrial endeavors. The pharmaceutical, cement, leather, plastic, fertilizer, textile and sugar industries are just some of the endeavors where Industrial Chemistry is applied. Structured training of the students in order to equip them with sound knowledge of the chemical principles and laboratory practices will make them capable and competent to solve problems in such industries.

Industrial Chemistry Programs

Program outcome

Upon successful completion of the program the graduates will develop the following skills, knowledge, and attributes.

  • An ability to identify, formulate, and solve broadly defined technical and scientific problems by applying knowledge of mathematics and science and/or technical topics to Industrial Chemistry.
  • Ability to formulate or design a system, process, procedure or program in chemical industries to meet desired needs.
  • An ability to develop and conduct experiments, or test hypotheses, analyze and interpret data and use scientific judgment to draw conclusions.
  • An ability to operate advanced scientific equipment properly.
  • An ability to fulfill a multiplicity of roles as research scientists, development chemists, and technical representatives and as lab/unit/plant/company managers.

Industrial Chemistry staffs:

No

Name

Sex

Academic Rank

Contact Address

 (phone/aastu email)

Specialization

1.        

Dr. Adam Mekonnen Engda

F

Assistant Professor

adam.mekonnen@aastu.edu.et

Applied Analytical Chemistry

2.        

Dr. Asefa Sergawie Asemahegn

M

Associate Professor

asefa.sergawie@aastu.edu.et

Physical Chemistry

3.        

Dr. Getachew Adam Workneh

M

Associate Professor

getachew.adam@aastu.edu.et

Physical Chemistry

4.        

Dr. Siraye Esubalew Debebe

M

Assistant Professor

siraye.esubalew@aastu.edu.et

Physical Chemistry

5.        

Dr. Anteneh Kindu Mersha

M

Assistant Professor

anteneh.kindu@aastu.edu.et

Material Science

6.        

Dr. Gebrehiwot Gebreslassie Beyene

M

Assistant Professor

gebrehiwot.gebreslassie@aastu.edu.et

Material Science  and Engineering

7.        

Dr. Taju Sani Ahmed

M

Assistant Professor

taju.sani@aastu.edu.et

Inorganic Chemistry

8.        

Dr. Tsegaye Belege Atesemy

M

Assistant professor

tsegaye.belege@aastu.edu.et

Material Sciences and Engineering

9.        

Dr. Aselefech Sorsa  Watango

F

Assistant Professor

aselefech.sorsa@aastu.edu.et 

Applied Organic Chemistry

10.     

Dr. Ibrahim Nasser Ahmed

M

Associate Professor

ibrahim.nasser@aastu.edu.et

Applied Organic Chemistry

11.     

Dr. Menbere Leul Mekonnen

M

Assistant Professor

menbere.leul@aastu.edu.et

Applied Analytical Chemistry

12.     

Dr. Tarekegn Brhanu Esho

M

Associate Professor

tarekegn.brhanu@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

13.     

Dr. Yitayal Admassu Workie

M

Assistant professor

yitayal.admassu@aastu.edu.et

Pharmaceutics and Nanotechnology

14.     

Dr. Mesfin Getachew Tadesse

M

Assistant Professor

mesfin.getachew@aastu.edu.et

Organic Chemistry

15.     

Prof. Dejene Ayele Tessema

M

Professor

dejene.ayele@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

16.     

Dr. Mesfin Atlaw Eshete

M

Assistant Professor

mesfin.atlaw@aastu.edu.et

Physical Chemistry

17.     

Dr. Tesfu Hailu Halefom

M

Assistant Professor

tesfu.hailu@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

18.     

Mr. Araya Kahsay W/Kidan

M

Lecturer

araya.kahsay@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

19.     

Dr. Madhu Thomas

M

Associate professor

madhu.thomas @aastu.edu.et

Inorganic Chemistry

20.     

Dr. Bikila Alemu Jote

M

Assistant Professor

bikila.alemu@aastu.edu.et

Applied Chemistry

21.     

Dr. Mamo Gebrezgiabher

M

Assistant Professor

mamo.gebrezgiabher@aastu.edu.et

Inorganic Chemistry

22.     

Dr. Tesfay Gebretsadik Ashebr

M

Assistant Professor

tesfay.gebretsadik@aastu.edu.et

Inorganic Chemistry

23.     

Dr Tesfaye Eshete Asrat

M

Assistant Professor

tesfaye.eshete@aastu.edu.et

Nanotechnology and Nanomedicine

24.     

Mrs. Sosina Gebremicheal

F

Lecturer

sosina gebremicheal@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

25.     

Mr. Assefa Demeke

M

Chief Technical Assistant I

assefa.demeke@aastu.edu.et

Analytical Chemistry

26.     

Mrs. Alayu Weldetensay Tekle

F

Chief Technical Assistant I

alayu.weldetensay@aastu.edu.et

Industrial Chemistry

27.     

Mr. Belay Getye Zafu

M

Chief Technical Assistant I

belay.getye@aastu.edu.et

Industrial Chemistry

28.     

Mrs. Lelise Wodajo Negasa

F

Chief Technical Assistant I

lelise.wodajo@aastu.edu.et

Environmental Science

29.     

Mr. Temam Usman Abdi

M

Chief Technical Assistant I

temam.usman@aastu.edu.et

Industrial Chemistry

30.     

Mr. Awol Hussien Muhammed

M

Technical Assistant

awol.hussien@aastu.edu.et

Information Technology

Facilities:
• Analytical Chemistry Research Lab
• Electrochemistry and Electroanalytical Research Lab
• Organic Chemistry Research Lab
• Nano catalysis for Energy and Environment Research Lab
• Inorganic Chemistry and Materials Research Lab
• Nano catalysis for Energy and Environment Research Lab

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy