Girma Gonfa (PhD)

Director, Research Directorate

Mobile: +251 911311232

Office: +251 1181120498


Google scholar:

LinkedIn :

P.O Box: 16417 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Research Directorate 

Office of Research Directorate administers the university’s research grants, establishes and formulate the administrative and research responsibilities of the Office, assist the researcher or research units in searching external funds and sign support agreements as per the guidelines of the university, establishes and formulates the administrative and research responsibilities of the Office, identify research needs, determines research priorities and research projects in collaboration with the stakeholders, determines the need, desirability and feasibility for creating functional units within the framework of the department, lays down policies and procedures, and other related activities.


Addis Ababa Science and Technology University (AASTU) was established with a special mission to focus on Science and Technology Education, Research and Technology Transfer activities. In this perspective, AASTU is expected to produce competent researchers and proficient trained workforce for the industries in particular and the country in general. Recognizing such high national demands and expectations, AASTU has a vision of becoming a Research University and a hub of excellence in science and technology in the country and in the region. In the process of this transformation, AASTU thus striving to foster high-quality educations, impactful research, technology transfer, and innovation that contribute to the industrial and economic transformation of the country. To reach these goals, AASTU has restructured itself in such a way that it can fulfil its ambitions. The university has five colleges, which comprises 22 departments, focusing on science and technology education:

Besides the academic divisions, AASTU established eight Research Centre of Excellences (COEs) to solve the challenges of the local industries and communities through research and technology transfer activities and also to contribute the research output to the scientific communities. In this regard, AASTU has a strong desire to work with varies local and internal industries, government and non-government organizations, local and international research institutions. To achieve this goal AASTU established 8 COEs based on national propriety of the country:

  • Artificial Intelligence and Robotics
  • Mineral Exploration, Extraction and Processing
  • Sustainable Energy
  • Construction Quality and Technology
  • Nanotechnology
  • Biotechnology and Bioprocessing
  • Nuclear Reactor Technology
  • High Performance Computing and Big Data Analytics

Each CEOs support a number of research clusters and units formed from different departments. To integrate the COEs, research laboratories, colleges and the research management units AASTU is building a research park which include a building complex that accommodates the whole research activities. The new research park is expected to be completed in less than two years.

In addition to the COEs AASTU is in a process of establishing different central laboratory and other research laboratories facilities that support the university research activities.


Integration of COEs with central laboratories, colleges and departments and external.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy